Vegans are geniuses!

Until about one month ago I thought vegan people were freaks. I mean, you’re already saving the world by not eating meat, why not enjoy the best things in world: eggs and cheese? I also thought I could never be vegan, but today I’m thinking I might. I guess it’s only laziness that stops me from it. Is that a terrible thing to say?

When you’re a vegetarian and search for recipes online, you sometimes end up making vegan food without knowing OR wanting it. It’s not that I don’t want to make vegan food, but it’s usually not my intention, but whenever I do it feels good. Saving the planet even harder, haha!

About one month ago I wanted to make a dessert that was a little healthy and I had seen various recipes for black beans brownies when looking for other recipes online, so I decided that was what I was going to do. I used this recipe and even though it isn’t completely vegan (you would have to use vegan chocolate), it’s extremely far from anything I had ever made in my kitchen. Apart from being almost vegan these brownies are made without flour and sugar! For those of you who haven’t been introduced to the world of vegan baking this probably seems like a very bad idea, but I can tell you that it’s not. When you take the first bite you think that they’re reasonable brownies, but when you’re told what they’re made of you can’t be anything but amazed. I mean, a cake with those strange ingredients shouldn’t taste good like this, should it?

That was the day that my opinion about vegans changed and since then I’ve started making some other things as well. I’ve tested avocado chocolate mousse (for the second time today, with some changes, recipe here), almond coconut chocolate chip cookies (recipe) and today I also made date caramel. I can really recommend the cookies and the date caramel was good, but I still don’t know the best way to use it yet. My next experiment will be chocolate beet (!) muffins (recipe) 😀

cookie

Amazing almond cookie chocolate chip cookie!

If you’re interested in vegan/almost vegan recipes and healthier options check out these food bloggers:

I hope I can inspire someone to discover this new (to me) world of baking and cooking! It’s pretty amazing even thought you’re not vegan. Good luck!

– Guro

Legg igjen en kommentar

