Superfood

I always feel like a freak when my lunch or dinner consists of vegetables and legumes only. Maybe that’s the reason why it doesn’t happen that often?! Today my lunch looked like this:

superfood01

And I had half an avocado as well! As if that makes me less of a veggie freak. Even though this looks like something a bird or a rabbit would eat it’s not, haha 🙂 It’s actually quite nutritious, just look:

  • Black beans: High in protein, iron, fiber and vitamin B6! We had some leftovers in the fridge that I reheated.
  • Sweet potato: Loaded with beta-carotene, potassium and copper. I just read that you can only eat 72% of it, but I don’t even peel it? Will I die? Hahaha! I baked it in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper for about 30 minutes at 200 C.
  • Taro root: Has a lot of potassium as well and vitamin A and C. It’s great to eat with beans because the vitamin C makes it easier for the body to absorb the iron from the beans. I baked it in the oven with the sweet potato, but it needs about 40-45 minutes, so you should put in the taro first and then add the sweet potato after 10-15 minutes.
  • Zucchini: High in fiber, folate, vitamin C and potassium. I fried it in a pan with olive oil, onion, garlic and spinach.
  • Spinach: This is the real hero here and it’s loaded with lots of great things like beta-carotene, folate, potassium, magnesium, copper, fiber and vitamin C, E & B6. I put it in the frying pan when the zucchini has browned all over because the spinach only needs a couple of minutes over heat to get ready.
  • Onion: FIBER!
  • Garlic: Has lots of potassium and is everyone’s best friend in the kitchen, right?
  • Avocado: Might be known for having lots of fat, but hey, it’s the good kind of fat! It also has folate, potassium, copper and vitamin E & B6.

If you’re a little confused about what is taro root and what is sweet potato on my plate up there I understand you perfectly. The sweet potato here in Brazil isn’t orange like in Europe and the US; it’s pink on the outside and white on the inside. The taro has a whiter flesh than the sweet potato and the skin is brown and super ugly, but I peeled it before baking. This is how the taro root looks raw:

superfood02

It can be hard to see the difference, but if you take a look in the lower left corner maybe you can see it? The taro root is the one closest to the bottom of the picture:

superfood03

So, that was my amazing lunch! I shouldn’t really be ashamed of eating like this because it’s so good for you. Of course there are days when I prefer pasta or rice, but today sweet potato, taro root and beans did the work (carbs). Now I have to finish a project for psycholinguistics. I can’t wait for all these tests and projects to be over! And for my bachelor’s to be over…

– Guro

 

Source: Opplysningskontoret for frukt og grønt.

Legg igjen en kommentar

