My new favorite recipe book

A couple of weeks ago I learned that one of my favorite food bloggers (Mia Frogner on Green Bonanza) was going to publish a recipe book and I got really excited. The only sad part was that she’s Norwegian and the book will only be published there. Luckily I went back to Norway last week and I got to buy the book after all. Of course I could have ordered it online, but the import fees here in Brazil are through the roof, so I didn’t even think of it as an option. Anyway, now I have the book and since I got home last Saturday I’ve been trying out a couple of the recipes. I’ve made almond milk from scratch, lentil stew with coconut milk, ginger and coriander, and tofu burgers with homemade BBQ sauce. They’ve all been amazing and when someone asked me the other day to share the recipe for the lentil stew I said yes right away. I had to adapt the recipe to what I have access to here in Brazil, but you can find the original here (only in Norwegian I’m afraid).

c360_2016-10-15-11-19-35-872.jpg

This stew really warms you up from the inside and it’s great for fall and winter. I would eat it all year around though, because it’s so delicious! And vegan! Let’s save the planet, people 😀

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 tbsp neutral vegetable oil (sunflower, canola)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 3-4 garlic cloves
  • 2-3 tbsp fresh ginger
  • 1 small red chili (the original recipe says 1/2 red chili, but 1 small worked perfectly for us)
  • 1-2 tsp curry powder
  • 400 ml canned chopped tomatoes (1 can)
  • 400 ml coconut milk, not low-fat (1 can or 2 small bottles, depending on your country)
  • 200 ml dry red lentils
  • 1 big bunch coriander
  • 2 limes
  • salt, if needed

How to:

  1. Chop the onion, garlic, ginger and chili finely.
  2. Heat the oil in a big saucepan over medium heat and add the onion. When the onion is translucent you can add the garlic, ginger and chili and let it sautee for another couple of minutes.
  3. Add the curry powder and mix well.
  4. Add the chopped tomatoes and the coconut milk and mix again.
  5. Put a little bit of water in each of the cans/bottles of tomatoes and coconut milk to rinse slightly and then put the water into the pan with the dry lentils.
  6. Let the stew cook over medium-low/low heat until the lentils are done, about 20-30 minutes. They are done when they are breaking up. Remember to stir every 5 minutes or so so that the lentils won’t burn, especially at the bottom of the pan.
  7. When the lentils are almost done you can chop the coriander and add half of it to the pan.
  8. Serve the stew with the rest of the fresh coriander, a squeeze of lime juice and rice.

img_20161010_134219.jpg

Yummy!

I hope you all give it a try because it’s delicious and so good for you. Have a great Saturday, everyone! I’m off to an AFS meeting before dinner with my boyfriend later 🙂

– Guro

Legg igjen en kommentar

