Just call me the baker

Aloha 🙂

Today has been a day full of what I love the most; FOOD! It started with fresh baguettes from the bakery up the street, homemade mango orange juice and breshly frewed freshly brewed coffee. Then we crawled back into bed and stayed there reading news, blogs, listening to music, looking for different things for the apartment online etc. I found this really nice website for home decor (if you live in Brazil). My plans for the day were to make rolls that we can have for breakfast during the whole week and to make banana bread because we had some bananas that were almost going bad.

I started making the dough for the rolls before our extremely late lunch and then we went to the grocery store while it was rising. When we came back my boyfriend started to make lunch, so the dough ended up rising for 2,5 hours, hahaha! I guess that’s only a good thing though 🙂 I used a recipe from a Norwegian website (here) that I’ve used a lot earlier (changing it up a little bit each time) especially last year when I lived in an apartment with a stand mixer. I had rolls in the freezer all the time because the mixer made it so easy to make them! Unfortunately we don’t have space in this super small apartment with an even smaller kitchen (it’s about 3 x 1,5 meters). As soon as we move to a bigger place and I have some extra money to spend, I will definitely buy one! For now I have to use my hands. As I said, I’ve used the recipe from the website many times, but I always end up changing some things, so here’s how it turned out today:

Ingredients (16 rolls):

  • 600 ml of water
  • 300 ml of milk
  • 5 tbsp of oil (I used sunflower)
  • 3 tsp of honey
  • 1,75 cup of oats
  • 0,25 cups of chia seeds (can be replaced by more oats or wholewheat flour)
  • 3 cups of wholewheat flour
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 10 g of dry yeast
  • 5-6 cups of flour + more for forming the rolls
  • 1 egg, optional
  • seeds of any kind (I used sunflower), optional

Bake02

How to make magic happen:

  1. Start by mixing water, milk, oil and honey in a small saucepan and heat the mixture until it’s a little warmer than your body temperature (not higher than 50 degrees celsius!). Be careful not to heat it too much because that will kill the yeast later on.
  2. Mix oats, chia seeds, wholewheat flour, salt and dry yeast in a big bowl.
  3. Add the tepid mixture of liquids to the flour mixture and mix well.
  4. Start adding the normal flour little by little and incorporate it well into the dough before adding more. You have to start using your hands to knead the dough after a while.
  5. Keep adding flour until the dough is elastic, but not sticky, and knead it well for 5-10 minutes. Put it back in the bowl, cover it with a damp cloth and let it rise in a warm place for at least one hour. I usually put the covered bowl into the oven (don’t turn on the oven!) on the middle rack and then I put a bowl of hot water on one of the lower racks. The steam from the hot water will make the inside of the oven both hot and humid, which makes the yeast work its magic beautifully!
  6. After the dough has risen for at least one hour it’s finally time to make the rolls. Cover a surface with flour and knead the dough for a couple of minutes. I started with only half the dough to make it easier to work with.
  7. After kneading you can make a rope/sausage and start by cutting it in half. Then you cut the halves in halves again and then one more time. You will end up with 8 pieces of dough more or less equal in size. Roll the rolls into nice round balls or whatever form you like. You can also make them smaller or bigger. Maybe you’ll only make one huge baguette? The only thing you should remember is that they should all be more or less the same size so they will bake evenly. Repeat with the second half of the dough and put the rolls on baking sheets with butter, oil or parchment paper.
  8. Let the rolls rise again under a damp cloth, this time for about 30 minutes. 15 minutes into the rising process you should preheat the oven to 215-220 degrees celsius.
  9. When the rolls are almost done rising, beat the egg and brush the rolls with it before sprinkling them with seeds of any kind. I used sunflower seeds, but I think pumpkin seeds, poppy seeds and even small oats can work great! If you’re feeling a little creative you can even make cuts in the rolls before brushing them with the egg, it gives them a really nice appearance.
  10. Bake the rolls for 10-15 minutes or until golden. All ovens are different, but you probably know yours best. Mine is a little warmer than others, so I used 215 degrees even though the original recipe says 220 and it worked out perfectly. You might also have to rotate the sheets during the baking for them to bake evenly. Mine is a little hotter in the back, so if I don’t remember turning the back to the front I get some very dark and some very light rolls, haha 🙂

Bake01

I love these rolls hot with butter and cheese or jam, but they are great for freezing as well! If you manage not to eat them all once they’re done…

When the rolls started rising for the second time, we started making the banana bread. I’ve used this recipe as a starting point a couple of times, but I will post my version of it later. This time my banana bread didn’t fall down after cooling down and I’m so proud! Maybe it was by BF’s heavy whisking of the batter that made it so great? Haha, made with love 😀

Bake03

Bake04

In the middle of writing this post we decided to go out for a night walk before the park close to our apartment would close. When we arrived the park was closed, so we decided to walk around it and then back home, but we got lost and we only got home now, more than one hour later! And I was wearing jeans and sneakers. Not cool! At least I got to complete the 100% of activity for the day on my new sports watch, haha 😉 And we saw lots of nice, old houses. It’s such a beautiful neighbourhood if you just stop for a moment and look around.

Enough from me today. It’s late and we should go to bed soon. Just have to eat some banana bread first! I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday tomorrow. We are going to the farmer’s market like every Sunday, woohoo, I love it 😀 Good night!

– Guro

2 thoughts on “Just call me the baker

Legg igjen en kommentar

