Coming to an end

Last week I finished the last exam of the fifth semester of my bachelor’s degree. That means this week was the first week of my sixth and last semester. I will not have to study next semester. In December I’m FREE!

Not all of us are meant for studying. I’ve had moments of both joy and frustration during these three years, just like everyone else, but the part that I’ve liked the most has been working to make ends meet. Work and studies have one huge thing that separates them. When you study you always have something you can do to improve. You can always read another chapter, write another summary, analize a little further. When you work there’s actually an end to it and that’s what makes me happy. I know working can be very stressful, for example if you have a lot of responsibility or if you have a deadline, but it’s never going to be like studying. It’s never going to be 4, 5 or 6 months of non-stop stress. You don’t feel like an idiot for taking Saturday and Sunday off. The stress I’ll start feeling two weeks from now will continue until my last exam in December. I don’t feel it yet because this was just the first week, but in a couple of weeks I’ll probably feel stupid, helpless and stressed out. I know I’m in a learning situation, but I can’t say I’m enjoying it. I prefer having a clear vision of what I have to do, then do it and then stop thinking about it. That constant stress of student life isn’t for me. Sorry, academia.

ComingEnd01

I’m so happy this part of my life is coming to an end. I’ve learned so much and I’ve experienced so many new things. I’ve had the opportunity to study abroad twice, experiences that have taught me even more about myself and where I’ve gotten to know new cultures and new people. I’m sure the formal education I’ve gotten during my studies has been important, but the informal eduation you get when living abroad has also been essencial to me. The world is starting to see this, but I still think there’s a long way to go.

I’m ready to build a life now. I think I’ve changed significantly during these last three years. I’m ready to take on life, whatever it has to offer and wherever it takes me. But first I have this last semester to crush. I’m taking only linguistics now and I’ve already started studying. We all know that extreme motivation during the first week of classes, don’t we? Haha, let’s see how it goes. Wish me luck!

– Guro

One thought on “Coming to an end

Legg igjen en kommentar

