Let’s talk about juice

I wasn’t sure if I should write juice or smoothie, because Houston, we’ve got a problem and the problem is how you make juice in different parts of the world. What do you call it when you mix the ingredients for a juice in a blender? Smoothie, right? It depends on the consistency of course (smoothie is usually thicker), but in the western part of the world you usually make juice in a juicer and smoothie in a blender. In Brazil you make juice in a blender with fruit/veggies and water and if you want a smoothie you simply replace the water with milk. Strange, right?

Even though it’s strange for us the Brazilians are the smart ones here. It’s actually healthier to use a blender to make juice because you will use the whole fruit and therefore consume more nutrients like for example fiber. A juicer separates the juice from the rest of the fruit, so we’re left with less nutrients than if we had eaten the whole fruit. I’m so happy that I’ve been introduced to the «blender juicing» and I thought I would share a recipe I invented this afternoon. The only «bad» thing I did was squeezing the orange juice just like I said you shouldn’t. I guess peeling the oranges and putting them in with the rest of the fruits can work as well?! Maybe you’ll need some more water.

I had lunch with my boyfriend in this great vegetarian restaurant (I have to write a post about it and show you their delicious dishes!) and on the way home it was so warm, so the only thing I could think about was an ice cold juice to cool down. We had a lot of leftover fruit from the past weeks that mysteriously hadn’t gone bad, especially the mango that I think that we bought when my mom was still here. That’s a 4 week old mango… Hope I won’t get sick, haha!

Ingredients for a (green) summer juice/smoothie (3-5 people):

  • 1/4 of a medium pineapple
  • 1 small mango
  • 1 small banana or 1/2 normal/big banana (the bananas here are so small!)
  • 2 oranges, freshly squeezed
  • 1-2 big handfuls of spinach, optional
  • water, optional
  • ice, optional

How to:

  1. Wash and cut everything in pieces. They can be quite big, but this depends on how strong your blender is.
  2. Put the fruits and the orange juice in the blender and mix on high for 30-60 seconds.
  3. Now you can add the spinach and the water. I used about 200 ml. Mix on high until the spinach is well incorporated in the juice and there are no small bits of spinach leaves left.
  4. Adjust the water and add ice if you like. Enjoy!

c360_2016-08-17-15-55-23-685.jpg

If you’d like to spice it up a little I think adding ginger and/or lime juice would work great, and I also think this is a great juice for making popsicles. I hope you like it as much as I did!

– Guro

One thought on “Let’s talk about juice

Legg igjen en kommentar

