Early winter holiday?

I’m back! My university has been on strike for two weeks now and I haven’t really done anything interesting since then. Of course I’ve been going to the gym, I’ve been cooking a lot, I’ve been studying a little bit and I’ve actually worked for the first time this year. As I came here in January and I’ve only been studying I haven’t earned a single krone this year and for someone who’s used to working at least a little bit and getting a pay check every month that’s very strange! I found the job on my Norwegian university’s career website, so now I’m working online 3 hours a day for a Norwegian company. I don’t know if I’m allowed to say what I do, but at least I can say that it’s language related and therefore very relevant to my bachelor’s begree and that makes me oh-so-happy!

Now that I have a lot of spare time I’ve started a project: making nightstands! I did some googling and then some drawing designing before buying and getting some wood cut (they do it for free when you buy the wood in the same store, it’s so great!). We don’t have any tools (hello, millennials), but my father-in-law is a carpenter, so he helped us put it together. We bought the screws though! Hahaha! This is how it looks now, after smoothing it with sandpaper and before painting:

Strike01

Strike02

My boyfriend wanted his nightstand red and mine will be yellow. This is a perfect example of what we wanted for our apartment. We didn’t want to buy everything at once when we moved in so that we could find gems here and there to personalize and make our place special. This weekend we will finally buy our table. We saw it when we visited Embu das Artes and it’s just so perfect! It might require some delivery time, but it’s the most amazing table in the world, so it doesn’t matter, haha 😉 Have to find some chairs soon too…

Winter has arrived here which means I don’t spend every second of the day sweating. It’s quite ok except from Brazilian houses and apartments not being prepared for lower temperatures than 20 degrees celsius. Luckily yesterday and today have been warm and about 20-25 degrees.

Strike03

Winter necessities

Strike05

Our plants died when we went to Paraty 😦

Strike04

Our view it’s the same, just with fewer sunny days and a blue sky.

Strike06

Our homegrown plants might have died, but we bought a new one and it makes our living room so much nicer!

Like I mentioned before I have been cooking a lot. Here are some of the things I’ve been whipping up in our miniature kitchen:

image

Curried potato cakes with sweet coriander chutney

image

Banana bread!

image

Chickpea and zucchini curry

I thought I had taken so many more photos of my food, but apparently I haven’t. Maybe they were all on snapchat (guronygaard) and I didn’t save them? Oh, well, something to get better at. Talking about food, I made the best hummus the other day! It’s a normal hummus until you put a roasted beet in it and you can actually feel both beet and hummus taste. I found the recipe on Minimalist Baker, but I changed it slightly. I skipped the lemon zest because I’m lazy and I had to switch the lemon (juice) for lime because lemons are so hard to find here in Brazil. For those of you who aren’t familiar with hummus it’s a dip made of chickpeas, tahini (sesame seed paste), garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. It’s a great healthy snack and it’s actually vegan! I love eating hummus with raw carrots and cucumber, but every once in a while I have it with pita bread instead. It’s an absolutely magical combination, but unfortunately not as healthy as with carrots and cucumber.

I hope you’re all doing great and that you’re enjoying summer if in the northern hemisphere (lucky you!). I’ll try to post some more great recipes soon! And the result of the nighstand project! And our new table when it arrives!

– Guro

Legg igjen en kommentar

