«The Monster»

São Paulo is a monster. Enormous, intimidating and, at first glance at least, no great beauty. It’s a difficult city for the traveler to master and one that may not seem worth the sweat. Even the most partisan paulistano – resident of São Paulo city – will rail about the smog, the traffic, the crumbling sidewalks and the gaping divide between poor and rich.

– Lonely Planet

And that’s were I’m gonna spend 2016. Am I scared? As a Norwegian girl from a city with 600 000 inhabitants? From a country with only 5 million? Of course! But I’m also very excited and positive.

I used to think that São Paulo was exactly that, a monster, but as I’ve done a little research and got a lot of information about everything you can see and do in São Paulo from my boyfriend, I think I’m ready to take on the challenge! Right now Im thinking that São Paulo is Latin America’s New York City, but with even more culture. I’ve only spent a couple of days in NYC and I’ve only done a layover in São Paulo until now, so we’ll have to see. Anyway, I think it’ll be very exciting and interesting, and as I’m getting more interested in photography every day I’m also looking forward to all the new places and things to photograph. And they’re not only new places and things, but a whole new world, feel, charm and culture as well!

I’m more than ready to share it all with you here on my blog. Some of the first things I’ll try to see in São Paulo (after finishing all the administrative stuff of course) are the Ibirapuera park, the Avenida Paulista, the São Paulo Museum of Art (MASP), the big market Mercadão and the Estaiada Bridge (the real name is Ponte Octávio Frias de Oliveira, but apparently no one uses that name). During the year I’ll also try to do some trips to other parts of Brazil and other places in São Paulo state. I already planned to go to Minas Gerais and Belo Horizonte in March for a friend’s birthday and when my mom comes to visit we’ll try to spend one week somewhere other than São Paulo. We were thinking about Salvador (where I lived in 2013), Rio de Janeiro, Vitória, Fortaleza, Recife, Olinda etc., but we’re not sure yet. We still have time to figure it out though.

Right now the most important thing is to get the visa from the Brazilian embassy and get moving, haha! I’m so excited for this year and all the experiences it’ll bring. Happy new year, everyone!

– Guro

Legg igjen en kommentar

