Oslo, a hidden gem?

Ok, that might be an exaggeration. Personally I haven’t seen my home city’s beauty until the last couple of years. Maybe because I didn’t want it to be anything special, maybe because I had a different view on beauty, maybe because I wasn’t here (at least not mentally)? Since I’ve discovered photography I’ve started to see the world differently and when Susana (my friend from Portugal, remember?) came here to visit me before Christmas I finally understood that Oslo can be a gorgeous place.

I picked Susana up at the airport on December 17th and as her days here were the ones with less sunlight during the whole year it was already completely dark outside at 6 pm. Therefore, our sightseeing started the next day and we managed to see a lot of what Oslo has to offer, like the Munch Museum, the Vigeland park, the Royal Palace, the Parliament, the main street  Karl Johan, the Opera House, the Fortress, the Harbour, the Nobel Peace Center etc. Unfortunately only one of Susana’s four days here was sunny (the others were foggy and cloudy), so the photos could have been better, but I think they still give an impression of how nice Oslo can be. Here are the first photos:

Oslo001

Oslo002

Oslo003

Oslo004

Oslo005

Oslo006

Oslo007

Oslo008

Oslo009

Oslo010

Oslo011

Oslo012

Oslo013

Oslo014

Oslo015

Oslo017

Oslo020

Oslo018

Oslo019

Oslo016

These aren’t the most Christmassy photos, but the sadness that the fog gives the photos is something special, almost magical. In the last photo I really like the contrast between the grey and sorrowful landscape and the joyfully decorated Christmas tree, don’t you? I’ll post more photos later, there are so many, and I really want to show you most of them to prove that Oslo has some (hidden?) beauty!

– Guro

One thought on “Oslo, a hidden gem?

Legg igjen en kommentar

