Realistic resolutions, anyone?

Porto045

This is a huge cliché, but I’ll try to make it less of one, I promise! It’s that time of the year again, time for making New Year’s resolutions. Let’s all stop eating what we enjoy the most, go to the gym five times a week and get up at 6 am every day to get the most out of the day, even during the weekend! Why should we promise ourselves these unrealistic things? If you’ve never been a morning person you won’t be this year either and if you’ve always had a sweet tooth (like me*) you won’t stop eating chocolate now either. One things is unrealistic goals, but many people also make goals that are too general, like «loosing weight». That’s why I have made some realistic and concrete New Year’s resolutions for myself. Maybe I can inspire some of you:

  1. Do 1 pull-up (without any assistance).
  2. Expand my repertoire of easy and healthy vegetarian dishes by 6.
  3. Learn the basics of Tupi, the most common native language in Brazil.
  4. Write more on my blog, which means more than 41 posts.

These are goals that I think are possible for me according to my plans for the next year, which is another interesting subject. As some of you might now I’ll spend next year in São Paulo in Brazil studying literature, linguistics and tupi at the University of São Paulo. I think it’ll be easier for me to write when I’m there because I’ll probably be more inspired with the change of surroundings and new places to take photos! Brazil also has more variety of vegetables which can inspire me to try out new recipes more often.

Do you have any New Year’s resolutions? Do you think they are realistic? Why? Why not? Could they be more concrete and/or realistic?

Good luck!

– Guro

* I’ve always had a terrible sweet tooth. The only time I managed to eat an acceptable amount of chocolate every week was when I stopped eating chocolate and other sweets completely. I had fruit instead and my cravings for sugar and chocolate went away after 1-2 weeks. Another tip is to eat less meat. I started to avoid eating meat in june this year and the only change I feel in my body is that I have less sugar cravings. I still eat fish a couple of times a week and meat once in a while in social settings.

Legg igjen en kommentar

