What happened to June?

Olá!

Tomorrow is the last day of June. I have no idea what happened this month. Time just flew. But that only means that I had a good time, right? Since my last post my cousin has visited me here in Porto and I really enjoyed it! She came on a Saturday night and we had dinner with my Belgian flatmate, some friends of hers and one of mine. After dinner my cousin, my friend and I went out for a beer and we talked until we were so tired that we had to go home, haha!

On Sunday we had planned to go to Viana do Castelo, a beautiful city one hour north of Porto, but as the weather forecast said it was going to be bad weather we decided to stay here. We walked around the historic centre before we headed to Gaia for lunch and port wine tasting. I took a lot of nice photos, here are some of them:

IMG_8085

My cousin on a stone with azulejos, typical Portuguese tiles!

IMG_8086

The view from the São Bento train station in the city centre

IMG_8092

São Bento train station

IMG_8097

My cousin enjoying the view from Porto’s cathedral or «Sé»

IMG_8098

The view from the cathedral

IMG_8104

The square in front of the cathedral

IMG_8107

The cathedral or Sé do Porto

IMG_8114

I can’t help posting yet another picture of the amazing view of the city

IMG_8115

Narrow streets…

IMG_8121

Decorations for the celebration of Saint John or São João

IMG_8122

Bliss.

IMG_8127

Even though I have walked these streets a couple of times before I hadn’t seen this interesting house before! And I love plants!

IMG_8147

The Dom Luís I bridge

IMG_8154

The view of Porto from Gaia

IMG_8162

My cousin looking at Gaia, the Douro River and Porto from the garden Jardim do Morro

IMG_8188

Pimentos padrón

IMG_8190

Sausages on fire, hahahhaa!

IMG_8194

Bread with cheese and jam

IMG_8202

The Douro River and Porto

IMG_8204

The Dom Luís I bridge

IMG_8236

Decorations for São João

As you can see in some of the photos above the city was decorated for São João, or Saint John, which is a big night here in Porto, but I will save that for a later post! The Monday after the big sightseeing day we went to the beach, but that will also be part of another post. I hope you enjoyed the photos and I will try to post again as soon as possible.

Beijinhos

– Guro

2 kommentarer om “What happened to June?

Legg igjen en kommentar

