I have a dream

IMG_8065

… that one day I will be a digital nomade! But what does that mean?

Digital nomads are individuals who leverage telecommunications technologies to perform their work duties, and more generally conduct their lifestyle in a nomadic manner.

Thanks, Wikipedia. I don’t remember how or when I got introduced to this concept, but I have been reading articles on a website called Nômades Digitais for quite some time now, maybe for a year or so. It’s a Brazilian website about digital nomads, their lives, how they are able to be digital nomads and why you should be one as well! A lot of people I know have no idea what they want to do with their life. I have had the same problem for a long time, mainly because there are so many opportunities out there that I can’t choose! What if I don’t like what I choose? What if I regret not taking the chance on something really cool? What if I, after some time, miss what I’m doing right now? This has been a big challenge for me this semester. I have been back and forth between continuing studying Portuguese language or changing to IT, which is a huge change. I really love Portuguese and after doing translation courses here in Porto, I have fallen in love with translation as well, but I have no idea if I will ever get a job!? On the other side I always see job offers for programmers and I also liked the little bit of programming I taught myself online a couple of weeks back.

I went back to Norway for a week in May to see friends and family and to celebrate Constitution Day. I also had time to stop by my home university for a meeting at the career counseling centre, which I’m really happy I did! My counsellor helped me think about what I actually want to do with my life, why I want to do it, why I like it etc. She also made me think about other career options where I get to use my languages. It was a big relief when I walked out of there and I felt so happy, almost like I was flying, haha! My new plan (I know I change my plans all the time, but..) is to finish my bachelor’s in Portuguese language with minors in IT and economics. I might do more IT than economics because I have been thinking about working with websites, but we will see when the time comes.

Starting this fall I will concentrate on taking courses that will help me get where I want to be, like e.g. working as a freelancer from an old house in a small village in South America. Haha, dreams are great, aren’t they? Nomades Digitais tries very hard to make people chase their dreams, even though the dream is to work from a deserted beach in the Caribbean, drinking coconut water and being surrounded by palm trees. I think they are right. People have to start realizing that nothing is impossible in this world, you just have to work hard for it! I’m 21 years old and this is the third time I’m living abroad. You just have to take the opportunities that life offers, plan well, work your a** off and GO!

– Guro

Legg igjen en kommentar

